Design & Development

17 Instagram Accounts for Design, Color, Illustration, More

I recently assembled a list of Instagram feeds for user-experience web design. As a follow-up, here is a list of Instagram feeds to follow for all aspects of web design, including color, illustration, animation, photography, typography, and storytelling. The accounts are from independent designers and artists, design studios, and creative ad agencies.

Design Milk — @designmilk

Design Milk

Design Milk

Design Milk is an online magazine dedicated to modern design. Its Instagram account features design images from what’s new in art, architecture, interior design, furniture and decor, fashion, and technology. 2.8 million followers.

Hey Studio — @heystuxdio

Hey Studio

Hey Studio

Hey Studio is a graphic design studio based in Barcelona with clients that include Apple, General Electric, and Turkish Airlines. Its Instagram images are full of bright, bold colors and geometric forms. 234,000 followers.

Wieden+Kennedy — @wiedenkennedy

Wieden+Kennedy.

Wieden+Kennedy is Ad Age’s agency of the year for 2019. The account features inspiring images, the agency’s ad work, creative musings, and behind the scenes workings. 191,000 followers.

Dschwen — @dschwen

Dschwen

Dschwen

Dschwen is a design studio based in Minneapolis that partners with brands and agencies to develop compelling design around simple messages. The work is fun and inspiring. 140,000 followers.

Neil A. Stevens — @neil_a_stevens

Neil A. Stevens

Neil A. Stevens

Neil Stevens is an illustrator and graphic artist whose colorful, geometric work draws on modern and popular art movements of the 20th century. 27,200 followers.

Stefan Sagmeister — @stefansagmeister

Stefan Sagmeister

Stefan Sagmeister

Stefan Sagmeister, of Sagmeister & Walsh, an agency, is a designer and art director from Austria who lives in New York City, with clients that include the Rolling Stones, the Talking Heads, Lou Reed, and the Guggenheim Museum. His images are of art and design. 342,000 followers.

Jessica Walsh — @jessicawalsh

Jessica Walsh

Jessica Walsh

Jessica Walsh, also of Sagmeister & Walsh, is a designer and art director with clients that include Jay-Z, Barneys, The New York Times, Levi’s, and The Museum of Modern Art in New York. Her Instagram images are colorful and witty. 456,000 followers.

Rachel Ryle — @rachelryle

Rachel Ryle

Rachel Ryle

Rachel Ryle is an illustrator, animator, and storyteller. Her stop-motion animation is fun and inspiring. 1 million followers.

Design Seeds — @designseeds

Design Seeds

Design Seeds

Design Seeds is from designer Jessica Colaluca. The account is a collection of color palettes inspired by images submitted via Instagram. 156,000 followers.

Riley Cran — @rileycran

Riley Cran

Riley Cran

Riley Cran is a type designer and lettering artist. Creating characterful and functional work, he merges historical influences with contemporary solutions for clients such as Dropbox, IBM, and Starbucks. His Instagram feed contains modern and iconic lettering styles. 29,400 followers.

Erik Marinovich — @erikmarinovich

Erik Marinovich

Erik Marinovich

Erik Marinovich is a San Francisco based lettering artist and designer. He is a co-founder of Friends of Type, a “sketch blog.” He has drawn letters, logos, and type for Nike, Google, Sharpie, The Criterion Collection, and Ford Motor Company. 81,200 followers.

Velvet Spectrum — @velvetspectrum

Velvet Spectrum

Velvet Spectrum

Velvet Spectrum is the creative studio of Australian visual artist Luke Choice, in Los Angeles. The account focuses on dynamic color imagery and typography. 95,000 followers.

Steve Harrington — @s_harrington

Steve Harrington

Steve Harrington

Steve Harrington is a Los Angeles–based artist and designer who is known for a bright, iconic style. He is a leader of a contemporary Californian psychedelic-pop aesthetic. 185,000 followers.

Paul Octavious — @pauloctavious

Paul Octavious

Paul Octavious

Paul Octavious is a photographer and videographer based in Chicago. His work is colorful and full of life. 565,000 followers.

UXUIgifs — @uiuxgifs

UXUIgifs

UXUIgifs

UXUIgifs is an Instagram account dedicated to inspiring design for animated GIFs. The GIFs mainly relate to user-experience and user-interface design, though some are just cool animations. 65,900 followers.

Dailywebdesign — @dailywebdesign

Dailywebdesign

Dailywebdesign

Dailywebdesign features daily inspirational examples. The feed focuses on UI and UX, as well as beautiful and provocative designs. The account is by three young designers from Rotterdam. 177,000 followers.

Welovewebdesign — @welovewebdesign

Welovewebdesign

Welovewebdesign

Welovewebdesign, from the owners of Dailywebdesign, is another popular design inspiration feed. It features UI, UX, and web design examples.  469,000 followers.

Sig Ueland

Sig Ueland

Bio   •   RSS Feed


x